Global Reading Challenge 2014

Standard

I’ve signed up for the Global Reading Challenge 2014: Reading 21 novels from 21 different countries on 6 continents (plus the Seventh Continent as described below).

I found out about the Global Reading Challenge through Ms. Wordopolis Reads. She had participated in the 2013 challenge and it sounded interesting, so I signed up for this year, at the expert level. The Global Reading Challenge is managed by Kerrie at Mysteries in Paradise.

From the website, what I’ve signed up for is this:

The Expert Challenge

Read three novels from each of these continents in the course of 2014:

Africa, Asia, Australasia/Oceania, Europe, North America, South America (please include Central America where it is most convenient for you)

The Seventh Continent (here you can either choose Antarctica or your own ´seventh´ setting, eg the sea, the space, a supernatural/paranormal world, history, the future – you name it).

From your own continent: try to find a country, state or author that is new to you.

Select novels from twenty-one different countries or states if possible.

I chose the expert level because I tend to focus on the same types of books, and I’m hoping this will expand my reading horizons a bit. There are two other levels–Easy and Medium–with fewer books as their goals, if anyone is interested in participating along with me. You can click on the map above to go to the sign-up page. I’m going to set up a couple of Goodreads shelves for myself to keep track of challenge books, and of course I’ll tag the reviews here of books that I selected specifically for this challenge.

I’m looking forward to this! So many books to choose from 🙂

I’m looking around for other reading challenges as well for the year. There’s a TBR pile challenge that I might sign up for. Heaven knows I’ve got plenty of books that I need to read before getting even more new ones!

2 responses »

  1. Good luck, Stacia, and have fun putting together your reading list! I love digging around previous year’s blog posts for suggestions for ideas. I need to go ahead and sign up for this challenge at the easy level too, but I’ve been doing other things instead.

Leave a Reply

