Undone by Karin Slaughter

Standard

UndoneUndone by Karin Slaughter (Kindle edition, published 2009)

Blurb: When a tortured young woman enters the trauma center of an Atlanta hospital, Dr. Sara Linton is thrust into a desperate police investigation with Special Agent Will Trent and his partner, Faith Mitchell. Though guarding their own wounds and their own secrets, Sara, Will, and Faith find that they are all that stand between a madman and his next victim.

I’m not quite sure what I didn’t like about this book. Perhaps I read it too soon after reading another book by the same author, so things leapt out at me that perhaps I wouldn’t have noticed if some time had elapsed in between. The story itself was OK; toward the end of the book I found myself wondering at the level of misogyny in these books. Some of it is necessary, because serial killers do tend to target women. Also, the author is arguably just as hard on her male characters as she is on her female characters. But that leads back to the same question: Do I want to keep reading books in which every character has a horrible backstory, every character is abused / victimized / affected by horrific violence? I’m not entirely sure. Definitely need to take a break from this author’s work and give it another shot once some time has passed.

My rating: 3 stars

Leave a Reply

